Minutes of the January 26, 2022 Annual Meeting of the Brewster Public Library Board of Trustees

In consideration of the public health emergency, the Board of Trustees conducted its annual meeting as a virtual meeting using the ZOOM app. In attendance: Peter Carey, Michael Conn, Karen DeSantis, Kevin Finnegan, Robert Gosselink, Kathleen Sakowicz, Gina Loprinzo (Director).

Mr. Carey called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

Mr. Kapil Gupta joined the zoom meeting at 5:06 pm.

The Board considered the proposed minutes of its November 17, 2021, December 7, 2021, January 3, 2022, and January 14, 2022 meetings. Mr. Finnegan moved to waive a reading of the minutes of the prior meetings and moved to approve. Ms. DeSantis seconded the motion, and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

The Board reviewed the Financial Report. Mr. Conn moved to accept the Financial Report. Ms. Sakowicz seconded the motion and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

Ms. Kathleen Catalano joined the zoom meeting at 5:20 pm.

The Board reviewed the Director's Report. Mr. Gosselink moved to accept the Director's Report. Ms. DeSantis seconded the motion and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

OFFICER ELECTIONS/TRUSTEE TERMS

Mr. Carey nominated Mr. Kevin Finnegan to serve as President of the Board of Trustees; Mr. Rob Gosselink to serve as Vice President of the Board of Trustees; Mr. Michael Conn to serve as the Financial Officer and Ms. Kathleen Sakowicz to serve as Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Ms. DeSantis seconded the nomination, and the Board unanimously elected Mr. Kevin Finnegan to serve as President of the Board of Trustees; Mr. Rob Gosselink to serve as Vice President of the Board of Trustees; Mr. Michael Conn to serve as the Financial Officer and Ms. Kathleen Sakowicz to serve as Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Ms. DeSantis made a motion to accept the slate of nominations. Ms. Catalano seconded the motion and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

Mr. Carey made a motion to cast a single vote to accept the new slate of officers. Ms. DeSantis seconded the motion and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

Mr. Conn made a motion to nominate Peter Carey as trustee. Ms. Catalano seconded the nomination, and the Board unanimously approved the motion.

The board discussed the open trustee position as Ms. Margaret Bruen has completed her 5 year term. The board and library will use social media and Constant Contact to fill the open seat.

Board members discussed reopening the library to the public effective February 1, 2022. Mr. Carey made a motion to reopen the library under Covid restriction. Ms. DeSantis seconded the motion, and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

Mr. Carey made a motion to go into executive session. Mr Gosselink seconded and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

The board entered executive session at 6:21 pm for the purpose of discussing employee health benefits.

Mr. Finnegan made a motion to leave executive session. Ms. DeSantis seconded and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

The board exited executive session at 7:14 pm.

Mr. Carey moved to adjourn. Mr. Conn seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance approved the motion unanimously.

Mr. Finnegan adjourned the meeting at 7:24 p.m.